May 1st, 2019

Thank you all for a great turnout on Saturday for the 2019 Squash and Squash57 Finals Day; the culmination of the knockout events that we have been waging for the past couple of months, with pretty much every member participating!  




Many of you were there to lend your support, and it was great that the beer kept flowing and the presentations were well attended.


We all owe a huge thank-you to Sean O’Shea who did a tremendous job in organising this year’s club championships!


Both the open event finals were hard-fought 5 setters, with both runner ups gaining a 2 game ascendancy before being eventually overhauled by the eventual winners.


In the open squash final, our club coach and England coach, Adam Fuller, eventually overcame our first team captain and England over-35 debutant Ali Coker, prevailing in the 5th game.  The standard of squash was extremely high in a hotly contested match.


In the open squash57 final, club stalwarts Kev Thorpe and Mark Shattock went neck and neck for 5 long games.  Mark missed match ball opportunities in the 3rd and 4th, with Kev capitalising to win out in the 5th.


In the ladies final, Chloe Spratt was crowned champion for the 3rd year in a row, beating a recent new member of the club, Helen Watson in another excellent final.


The full list of winners and runners-up is shown below, and attached are photos of the winners.  More photos can be found on the club Facebook page.


Put a note in your diary for the cup final weekend on 18th and 19th May.  We have the John Cheshire memorial doubles on the Saturday, and we will be showing the FA Cup Final that kicks off at 5pm.  And there is a club open day on the Sunday - why don’t you book one of your box games for then, and help us show what a vibrant and welcoming club we have.



Your Squash/Squash57 Committee




Open winner:  Adam Fuller

Open r/up:  Ali Coker


Ladies winner:  Chloe Spratt

Ladies r/up:  Helen Watson


Vintage winner:  Steve McBride

Vintage r/up:  Grant Kleiner


Veterans winner:  Nick Lavery

Veterans r/up:  Richard Carr


Handicap winner:  Ollie Carolin

Handicap r/up:  Derek Brown


Plate winner:  Tim Lee

Plate r/up:  John Lee


U19s winner:  Calum Egan

U19s r/up:  Chloe Spratt


U15s winner:  Jacob Shattock

U15s r/up:  Owen Davidson


U11s winner:  Robbie Thorpe

U11s r/up:  Max Coker




Open winner:  Kev Thorpe

Open r/up:  Mark Shattock


Vintage winner:  Keith Shaw

Vintage r/up:  Ian Boardman


Handicap winner:  Kev Thorpe

Handicap r/up:  Dave Marsden


Plate winner: Ollie Culwick

Plate r/up:  John Lunn